Hall of Architecture Archive
The records contained herein represent the acquisition and collection of plaster casts by the Carnegie Museum to fill the new Architecture and Sculpture Halls, dedicated in 1907. The papers, photographs, lists, printed materials and other documents in this record group are the result of John W. Beatty, Director of Fine Arts, Carnegie Museum, 1896-1922. The majority of the correspondence is addressed to or from him. Many of the lists compiled and photographs received were also at his direction. Some other materials, such as the H. L. Warren catalog, did not originate with Mr. Beatty.
The dates of the collection stretch from 1895 to 1947, however, the bulk of the material dates from 1903 to 1907. Included among the correspondents are A. Rodin and Augustus Saint-Gaudens.
View the Archive
- Browse the finding aid.
- Explore the Hall of Architecture Archive.
- Learn more about the history of the Hall of Architecture.